en
Back to old website
Follow 1
Add topic
Search
juicy1
juicy1 | 12:38
Is your computer running slow?

Are you looking to buy a new computer but don't know what to look for?

Are you looking for people to game with?

Looking to buy a new phone?

Do you have a question about computers or the interwebs?

Ask here and I'll be glad to lend a hand in any way I can.

I'm a WiFi Engineer with experience in routers, switches, linux, windows, apple, PC troubleshooting, WAN and LAN troubleshoots, MySQL, SQL Workbench, DHCP, DNS, AD, Radius and of course WiFi.

26 to 50 of 387 comments
page 2 of 16
Captain_Keeta
Haha. Wow.
Cheesey_B
Cheesey_B | 16:40
I was using the Windows Disk Management tool to wipe the drive, using the default settings to completely wipe the drive entirely. No errors ever come up.

I figured that when trying to install from a flash drive it would offer to create and format a new partition like it used to with disks, but I couldn't get it to actually boot from the flash.

Multiple SSD's in a RAID would be great, but alas my laptop only hold a single drive.
Captain_Keeta
If my computer ever gets slow, I go to start and type in "%temp%" and remove the files in there. Apparently, they're junk. Then I go to "prefetch" and do the same. It actually does work. haha
Cheesey_B
Cheesey_B | 16:44
Jeff, try CCleaner. It's a tool which you can add to the context menu of the recycle bin and select all the areas to wipe when it runs.

Much quicker than manually searching, but it does do a pretty hardcore scrub of files and can take a while to run; but it doesn't take up many processes so you can use the computer like normal.

Unless Joe has a better option, try that in future.

Oh god, I just realised I don't even have an antivirus software running on my laptop... Since about a month ago, I think... Oh god, oh god, oh god!
Captain_Keeta
Haha I do use CCleaner.
Joeyy
Joeyy | 16:45
Joe put things on mine... Am I meant to be using them regularly, Joe?
Cheesey_B